What SEO Costs in Australia, and What the Price Buys
There is no independent survey of SEO pricing in Australia. Here is what the surveyed global data does say, in hours rather than dollars, with sources attached.

The real price of SEO in Australia
Table of Contents13 sections

One agency quotes your practice AU$800 a month for SEO and the next one quotes AU$4,000, for what reads like the same list of work. So which one is the real price?
The short version: no independent survey of SEO cost exists for Australia, and every AUD figure traces back to an agency's own rate card. The measured data is global and in US dollars: local SEO averages US$1,557 a month, and US$1,001 to US$2,500 buys 20 to 40 hours of work.
So does that mean you should ignore the numbers? No. It means you should sort the measured ones from the asserted ones, because the two get mixed all the time, and the mix usually favours whoever is quoting. I've sorted them below by how much weight each one can carry.
Key Takeaways
- No independent Australian survey of SEO cost exists. Every AUD number in the market, including the ones below, comes from an agency rate card.
- Local SEO averages US$1,557 a month, against US$2,917 across all work. A practice competing over three suburbs is buying local work, and national prices don't apply.
- Hours are the number to ask for. US$1,001 to US$2,500 buys 20 to 40 hours a month, on Backlinko's survey of 300-plus providers.
- Under US$500 a month buys 5 to 10 hours, and 2019 client-satisfaction data found those clients 75% more likely to be dissatisfied.
- Google's own timeline is four months to a year, from a 2017 video that has since left the live documentation. Anyone quoting faster is making it up.
- Three widely quoted figures don't exist, including the "532% healthcare ROI" credited to a report that has no healthcare row.
What the Surveyed SEO Cost Data Says
Two surveys carry any weight. Both are in US dollars.
Ahrefs: US$2,917 Overall, US$1,557 for Local Work
Ahrefs polled SEO providers and published the results at ahrefs.com/blog/seo-pricing. The headline says 439 respondents, but the page's own meta description says 350, and Ahrefs has never cleared that up. The charts date from 2023, so treat it as 2023 data whatever the update stamp says.
Here are the averages it found:
| Who | Average monthly retainer (USD) |
|---|---|
| Every respondent | $2,917 |
| Agencies doing local work | $1,819 |
| All providers serving local markets | $1,557 |
| Freelancers doing local work | $1,150 |
The most common single band was US$501 to US$1,000, at 20.4% of respondents, and 68.8% of everyone charged US$2,000 a month or less. The average hourly rate was US$111.
Look at the gap between the headline average and the local one. Local SEO costs roughly half what national or ecommerce work does. And a dental practice competing across three suburbs is local work.
Backlinko: US$1,000 to US$2,500 Is Typical
Backlinko surveyed over 300 SEO professionals at backlinko.com/seo-pricing, last updated December 2025. It lands on US$1,000 to US$2,500 a month as typical, with a regional split you should know about: only 7% of providers in the US, UK and Australia hold retainers under US$500 a month, against 42% in India and Latin America.
If someone quotes you AU$400 a month, you've been quoted an offshore team, whatever the invoice says. Offshore work isn't the problem in itself, since SEO from another country can be done honestly. Hiding it is.
The Number That Decides Your SEO Cost
Every survey above reports dollars. Only one reports hours, and hours tell you what you're actually buying, which is also why every Mersa price sits on one public pricing page with the working days beside it.
Here's the same Backlinko survey, with monthly retainers turned into work delivered:
| Monthly retainer (USD) | Hours of work per month |
|---|---|
| Up to $500 | 5 to 10 |
| $501 to $1,000 | 10 to 20 |
| $1,001 to $2,500 | 20 to 40 |
| $2,501 to $5,000 | 40 to 80 |
Read the top row twice. A $500 retainer buys five to ten hours a month. That's about one working day, spread across strategy, the actual work and the report you get at the end.
Now think about what a dental practice needs done in that day:
- A technical crawl and fix pass.
- Writing or rewriting a treatment page properly.
- Managing the Google Business Profile.
- Building or earning a link.
- Watching rankings across several suburbs.
- Producing a report a practice owner can read.
With one day a month, most of that day goes on the report.
So the question changes. "Is $800 a month reasonable for SEO?" has no answer. "Is sixteen hours a month enough to do the things on this list?" has an obvious one, and you don't need to know anything about search to give it.
Ask any provider who quotes you how many hours the retainer buys, and who does them. Their answers (or how much they squirm before giving them) will tell you more than the proposal deck.
The same test works on what arrives afterwards. A report that doesn't say what was done, and by whom, is the reporting version of an SEO cost nobody can account for. What a standalone report has to carry is its own subject.
The SEO Cost Australian Agencies Publish
These are self-declared and nobody audits them. I'd still read them, because they agree with each other more than you'd expect:
| Agency (self-published) | Small or local business | Competitive | Consulting per hour | Full site audit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| StudioHawk, Dec 2025 | AU$500 to $1,000 entry, $1,500 to $3,000 growth | AU$5,000+ | AU$150 to $300 | AU$2,000 to $5,000 |
| First Page, Jan 2026 | AU$1,000 to $2,500 | AU$2,500 to $5,000 (enterprise $5,000 to $15,000+) | AU$100 to $250 | Not stated |
| Digital Nomads HQ, dental | From AU$1,197, one location | AU$3,000+ for groups | Not stated | Not stated |
StudioHawk describes its AU$1,500 to $3,000 a month growth band as where most small and medium businesses see traction, which is the line I'd pay attention to. First Page draws its own line between local and competitive work at AU$2,500 a month, right inside the band where meaningful work starts.
Closer to what your practice would be quoted: Digital Nomads HQ publishes dental SEO from $1,197 a month for a single-location clinic, and $3,000 or more for multi-location groups.
Three agencies with different positioning land in roughly the same place. AU$1,500 to $3,000 a month is where meaningful work starts for a local business, and $100 to $300 an hour for consulting.
None of it is surveyed, but that agreement still means something. And once you convert it, it fits the Backlinko hours table.
The SEO Cost Number to Hold It Against
If a retainer feels expensive, compare it with the alternative, and leave zero out of it.
First Page puts an in-house SEO specialist's salary at AU$70,000 to $120,000, and the full cost at AU$100,000 to $150,000 a year once on-costs are in. That's AU$8,000 to $12,500 a month for one person who takes annual leave, needs tools, and won't be equally strong at technical work, content and links.
Few practices are choosing between an agency and a hire, and I'm not suggesting you should. Still, it helps to know what one person in that seat would cost you before you call a few thousand a month expensive.
That comparison puts a ceiling on what "expensive" can reasonably mean. It also explains why a $3,000 retainer that covers several specialists isn't the bad value it first looks like.
What a Cheap SEO Cost Comes With
Backlinko's SEO Services Report carries a 2026 date, but read the fine print: it was designed and run with Northstar Research Partners, and the underlying data is from 2019. Cite it as 2019 data. It's still the only real client-satisfaction dataset in the field.
In that 2019 data, clients spending under US$500 a month were 75% more likely to be dissatisfied, and clients spending over US$500 a month were 53.3% more likely to be extremely satisfied.
The rest of that survey is grim reading for the industry, and you deserve to see it:
| 2019 client survey finding | Share |
|---|---|
| Would recommend their current SEO provider | 30% |
| Have worked with more than one provider | 65% |
| Have worked with three or more | 25% |
| Of those who left: cited results they weren't happy with | 82% |
| Of those who left: cited cost | 81% |
The industry's net promoter score came out at zero.
One finding cuts the other way, though. Among the unhappy clients, 50% said they needed more training to benefit from SEO, 28% didn't have the staff, 27% found it confusing, and 25% weren't sure what they were paying for.
That last one is a briefing failure as much as a delivery failure, and you can fix it from your side. If you can't explain what your provider did last month, ask them before you cancel. If they can't explain it either, cancel.
How Long Before Anything Happens
What Google Says About Timelines
The most authoritative statement on this comes from Google itself, and it's nine years old.
Maile Ohye, then a Developer Programs Tech Lead at Google, said in a February 2017 Search Central video on hiring an SEO: "In most cases, the SEO will need four months to a year to help your business first implement improvements and then see the potential benefit."
That line has since disappeared from Google's live documentation. I checked. It's still the closest thing to an authoritative timeline we have, so cite it as a 2017 video, and treat anyone quoting a faster number as making it up.
Break-Even by Service Type
One dataset on break-even is worth a look, with heavy caveats. First Page Sage publishes break-even times by industry and by service type from its own client campaigns, Q1 2021 to Q3 2025. The service-type table is the useful part:
- Technical SEO only: break-even at 6 months
- Basic content marketing, around four average blog posts a month: break-even at 15 months, with a return on ad spend of 1.05
- Thought leadership and generative engine optimisation, around eight high-quality pages a month: break-even at 9 months (what that optimisation means for a practice is in the AI search guide for dental practices)
If anyone is selling you a content package, look hard at that middle row. Four mediocre posts a month is the most commonly sold SEO deliverable in Australia. On this agency's own numbers, it barely breaks even, and only after more than a year.
Two caveats. First, this is an agency reporting on its own clients, whose campaigns it says typically cost around US$120,000 a year and lean heavily B2B.
Second, because it gets repeated everywhere: the "healthcare: 532% ROI, 11 months to break even" figure credited to this report isn't in it. The current table has no healthcare row. Somebody invented it and everybody copied it.
The Comparison Worth Making: Paid Versus Organic
Dentistry is one of the most expensive keyword sets in advertising, and that changes the maths on organic work.
WordStream's 2025 Google Ads Benchmarks draws on campaigns running April 2024 to March 2025. Dentistry ties home improvement for the highest cost per click in the report:
| Google Ads benchmark | Dentists and dental services | All industries |
|---|---|---|
| Average cost per click | US$7.85 | US$5.26 |
| Average conversion rate | 9.08% | Not used here |
| Average cost per lead | US$83.93 | Not used here |
That data leans American, and I won't convert it into Australian dollars and pretend it transfers. Two Australian agencies publish AUD dental click costs that disagree with each other by a factor of two to three. Neither states a dataset, and one quotes a US figure from 2024 as if it were an Australian figure from 2026.
So use the WordStream numbers as a benchmark with a US label on it, and take your real number from your own Google Ads account.
The bigger point survives the currency question. At roughly $84 a lead, a practice running paid search spends the cost of a mid-range monthly retainer on about thirty leads every month, forever, and gets nothing the day the card declines. Organic work compounds, and it takes most of a year to arrive.
Neither one wins. They fail in different ways, and most practices should run both, at least until the organic side is pulling enough of its own weight that the ad budget can come down without the phone going quiet. That's one reason a provider selling only one deserves a second look.
SEO Cost Figures I Could Not Verify
I'm publishing this list because the alternative is repeating them.
| The figure | Where it gets quoted | What I found |
|---|---|---|
| "Clutch: average monthly SEO spend is $3,199" | Dozens of agency blogs | No Clutch publication that contains it |
| "SEO delivers 22:1 ROI" | Aggregator blogs citing each other | No primary research behind it |
| "Healthcare SEO: 532% ROI, 11-month break-even" | Credited to First Page Sage | Their current table has no such row |
| Australian dental cost per click ($8 to $15, $10 to $30) | Two AU agency sites | Neither discloses a dataset |
If a proposal quotes any of these, I wouldn't read it as dishonesty. It usually means nobody checked. The penalty figure in AHPRA advertising guidance has the same problem, and it tends to be the same providers.
What to Ask About SEO Cost Before You Sign
Google publishes its own advice on this at Do you need an SEO?, last updated June 2026, and it's more direct than most agencies would like:
No one can guarantee a #1 ranking on Google. Beware of SEOs that claim to guarantee rankings, allege a 'special relationship' with Google, or advertise a 'priority submit'.
And on audits:
An SEO audit should be about giving you realistic estimates of improvement... If they guarantee you that their changes will give you first place in search results, find someone else.
Google also advises giving only read access to Search Console during an audit, and holding back write access. Remember that one. The request usually arrives dressed up as a formality.
It also helps to know which kind of audit you actually need, because an SEO audit, a website audit and a marketing audit don't check the same things.
Beyond that, there are four questions that get you useful answers.
How Many Hours Does This Retainer Represent?
Ask how many hours the retainer buys, and who does them. Hold the answer up against the table above, and if they can't give you a number at all, that tells you most of what you need to know about how the month will actually be spent.
What Happens to the Work If We Stop?
Pages, links and profile improvements you own stay with you. If the answer is that everything goes back to them, you were renting the rankings.
What Will You Not Do?
A provider who can't name anything they'd call out of scope hasn't thought about scope.
Who Checks the Copy Against AHPRA?
Who writes the copy, and who checks it against AHPRA? For a health practice you can't skip this, and the liability sits with you, whatever the agency's contract says.
Where Our SEO Cost Sits
I won't be coy about it. Mersa sells a fixed-price Marketing Audit at IDR 6,000,000 (about US$370). That's well below the AU$2,000 to $5,000 StudioHawk and First Page quote for a full site audit, and that's deliberate.
We price it that way because an audit should be a decision, and nobody should feel locked in by it. You get the findings and the ranked fix list. Pass them to your current provider, do them in-house, or leave them.
If you want us to do the work after that, we scope it separately. What we won't do is quote you a monthly figure before anyone has looked at your site. That habit is behind a lot of those Backlinko satisfaction numbers.
The details are on the audit page, and how we approach the work for practices is on marketing for dentists.
Common Questions
How much does SEO cost in Australia per month?
Australian agencies publish entry retainers around AU$500 to $1,000, a working band of AU$1,500 to $3,000 for local businesses, and AU$5,000 or more for competitive markets. None of those figures come from an independent survey. The surveyed global data puts local SEO at an average of US$1,557 a month.
Is cheap SEO worth trying?
A retainer under US$500 buys five to ten hours of work a month, and 2019 survey data found clients at that level were 75% more likely to be dissatisfied. Cheap providers aren't necessarily dishonest. One day a month just doesn't cover the work.
How much should an SEO audit cost?
Australian agencies quote AU$2,000 to $5,000 for a full audit, and global survey data puts the most common project fee at US$2,501 to $5,000. Cheaper audits exist, ours among them. What you should check is whether you get ranked findings or an automated tool export with a logo on it.
How long until SEO works?
Google's own guidance, from a 2017 video, is four months to a year. No credible source publishes a shorter figure.
Should a dental practice do SEO or Google Ads?
Dentistry has one of the highest costs per click of any industry, so paid search is expensive and immediate, while organic is slower and compounds. Most practices benefit from both, and if a provider sells only one, ask them why.
How do I know if I am being overcharged?
Ask how many hours the retainer buys, and who does them, then compare that with what you've been promised. Then ask what happens if you stop paying.
Why does one agency quote $500 a month and another $5,000 for the same thing?
Because the retainer buys hours, and the two proposals aren't for the same number of them. At the surveyed rates, $500 is five to ten hours a month and $5,000 is forty to eighty. Ask both how many hours the retainer buys, and who does them, and the gap stops being a mystery.
Is $500 a month enough for SEO for a dental practice?
It buys roughly one working day a month, including the time spent on the report. Put that next to a technical fix pass, a treatment page rewritten properly, the Google Business Profile, earning a link and tracking rankings across several suburbs, and you can see the answer without knowing anything about search.
Is an SEO agency charging AU$400 a month using an offshore team?
Almost certainly: Backlinko's survey found 7% of providers in the US, UK and Australia hold retainers under US$500 a month, against 42% in India and Latin America. The work may still be good. What isn't honest is a local rate card that leaves out where the work happens.
Should we pay for SEO monthly or buy a one-off audit first?
An audit tells you what's wrong before you commit to a retainer, and it's the cheaper way to find out whether you need the retainer at all. It's also the only part of this that leaves you with something to keep if you walk away.
How long before we see any return on SEO spend?
Google's own guidance has long put it at four to twelve months from the start of the work to visible benefit, and that's the figure to plan around. Anyone quoting weeks is either describing paid ads or describing something that won't last.
Is Google Ads cheaper than SEO for a dental practice?
They behave differently, so "cheaper" is the wrong question. Ads buy visibility that stops the day you stop paying, at a click price set by whoever else is bidding. Search work compounds and survives a pause, but it takes months to start, and most practices run both at some point.
Do we still own anything if we stop paying our SEO agency?
Ask before you sign. Content published on your own site and fixes made to it stay with you; rented links, a landing page on the agency's domain and a tracking number pointed at their system don't. How they answer tells you more about a provider than their pricing does.
Sources
- Ahrefs: SEO Pricing: How Much Does SEO Cost?, survey of 439 providers (page meta says 350), data vintage 2023, USD
- Backlinko: SEO Pricing, over 300 SEO professionals, updated December 2025, USD
- Backlinko: The SEO Services Report, with Northstar Research Partners, underlying data 2019, USD
- Google Search Central: Do you need an SEO?, updated June 2026
- Maile Ohye, Google Search Central, "How to hire an SEO", February 2017 (four to twelve months)
- StudioHawk: SEO pricing in Australia, December 2025, AUD, self-published
- First Page: How much does SEO cost in Australia?, January 2026, AUD, self-published
- Digital Nomads HQ: SEO for dentists, AUD, self-published
- First Page Sage: SEO ROI statistics, proprietary client data Q1 2021 to Q3 2025, USD
- WordStream: Google Ads Benchmarks 2025, campaigns April 2024 to March 2025, USD, US-weighted


